The last few meals (and some possible rewards!)

I have a very bad habit of justifying my eating when I know I’m starting a formalized program like Weight Watchers or a weight loss contest. This might explain why I had pizza last night and Chili’s for lunch today (at least 100% of the profits went to St. Jude!), and why I’m having Chinese food tomorrow. It’s not good!

We’ve worked out some details of the contest, including that it’s not so much a contest with each other–it’s a contest against ourselves. We will each set a personal goal at the beginning, and if we reach that goal, we get the reward we promised for ourselves. In my case, it’s going to be a fabulous new outfit, complete with purse and jewelry–a whole ensemble. I don’t think I’ve ever bought an entire outfit before–just a shirt here or jeans there that I like. I’m excited at the prospect of feeling all put together and polished!

Here are a few outfits I found on Pinterest that I would love to someday be able to wear (I don’t think I’d have the right body for skinny jeans even if I lost another 75 pounds, but the rest is very cute)!

This contest is going to be tough right from the get-go. I will be on vacation for the first three days. Not the best timing….or maybe it is. It will serve as a reminder that I am traveling for the experiences and the scenery, and not the food (but, OH MAN, there’s some good food I’m going to have to turn down!). Because of the trip, I probably won’t be able to post about our first weigh-in until Sunday night.

Another post to come is a Q&A with my former trainer, Michelle. She is awesome and is happy to answer any questions we have. If you have any, just post them here and I’ll include your questions in the mix!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The last few meals (and some possible rewards!)

  1. Marcy says:

    Could you link to pinterest? I have to find that grey sweater ASAP! Thanks!

  2. Kristen K says:

    I totally forgot to look at the source when I pinned that outfit on Pinterest. And now I am going to cry. It’s a freaking $1,300 Alexander McQueen. http://www.polyvore.com/simple/set?id=35619754

  3. Marcy says:

    You and me both, girl! Craaaaazy price. Hope to find something similar, though. And btw, I think a new outfit is a GREAT incentive. Press on, lady, you can do it!

  4. Nota says:

    About justifying the splurge eating – from a fellow foodie – have you considered trying to think about going out to eat as being about the company rather than being about the food? I know I tend to eat a little better when out if I’m eating with people that have better eating habits/healthier body weights than mine. So I encourage increasing the amount of company we invite to join us at meals out. I’ve also tried to adjust my thinking about my eating habits by saying to myself “this is the way I eat now”. When you’re dieting, it has a deadline. So instead of saying ‘this is how I’m eating for the next 12 weeks’, I would say ‘this is the way I eat now’ as if it is a for the remainder of my life statement. I used to eat one way, now I eat a different way.

  5. Sara says:

    Nota — I like what you said about this is how I eat now rather than this is how I eat for the next 12 weeks. We definitely need to think of this as a lifestyle change rather than as a diet. Kristen — I love the outfits that you chose, especially the second one! Remember you can have everything in moderation. You may have to have a light breakfast and a filling salad for lunch to splurge on a dinner out but you can do it!

  6. Kristen K says:

    Nota, you always have the most insightful comments! I’m so glad you read my blog. 🙂 Sara, I agree. It’s a lifestyle change and we will do this!

Leave a Reply

