Lose to Win: The first week

We’re six days into our friendly contest–our first weigh-in is tomorrow!–and my week has been a mixed bag. I was on vacation for the first few days, seeing the gorgeous fall foliage in northern Wisconsin, so eating well was quite a challenge. My mom and I did really well for the most part, except for one dinner when we let ourselves get a bit too hungry. We ended up at a brewery and ate a grilled cheese on panini, cheese soup and spinach artichoke dip. Yes, really. When I fail, I fail SPECTACULARLY, baby. 🙂

We had lots of fun, though! And there were a few successes–I ordered a dinner of baked fish rather than the bleu cheese burger I would have liked, and I only ate the samples I knew I’d absolutely LOVE at the Cranberry Fest we went to, and ignored the other zillion or so.

I really want to kick it into high gear in week 2. I just went to the gym for the first time in about two months, and I feel incredible! Why did I let this go? I can do this, I WILL do this, and I will do it alongside my LTW friends. Doing it together will make the success even sweeter.

My new mantra, found on Pinterest, is:

Here is what I looked like on day one of the contest:

Can’t wait to see where I am in 12 weeks! I’ll be back tomorrow with the first weigh-in results!

Pinterest pic source: thehealthychange.tumblr.com

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Progress pictures, Weight loss contest. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lose to Win: The first week

  1. Nota says:

    I love that Sore/Sorry pic. I might need to make that bigger and post it at my boxing gym.

    My husband has this thing he says when we go out: You don’t order fish in a steak joint. Meaning: If you’re in a steak joint, you know they do that well, so why would you order the thing they don’t do well and expect to be happy with it?

    I took that and adapted it to my own needs – if I want something, I want THAT thing – substitutes aren’t satisfying. So when I want a burger, I want a burger from the place that I KNOW has the best burger in town, not the one on the grill at my office which won’t satisfy the craving anyway. If I eat the quick fix grill burger, I’m still craving THAT perfect burger, so I ending up eating THAT burger too down the road. So now, my craving for THAT burger has me eating two burgers instead of one – it’s a trap. Does that make sense? Since I don’t eat much red meat – I’m not going to waste my time ordering a craptastic or mediocre burger from anywhere else. I’m willing to wait and let that craving build so that when I finally get that burger, it is one heavenly tasting piece of mashed up beef. That burger is a special-freaking-occasion when I get to it (and even better, I’ve had time to plan a few workouts around it).

    So in a nutshell, I’m glad you ordered the cheese-fiesta at the cheese-place in Wisconsin, the home of cheese instead of going for the burger. I’m glad the cheesefest was a special occasion. And I don’t think that’s a fail – I think it’s respecting the moment. You do have to be able to live – and deprivation is not a state of living. You can’t maintain it. Now plan a few workouts around that cheese soup and get movin’ movin’ this weekend.
    (I promise that sometimes I am more brief!! LOL)

Leave a Reply

