Weigh-in #1

The first results are in! I am down 3.2 pounds this week, for a new weight of 227.8. Melissa is kicking butt and taking names with a loss of more than seven pounds!

Total percentages after week 1 are as follows:

  • Melissa: -3.34%
  • Kristen: -1.4%
  • Rachel: -0.9%
  • Sara: +0.8%
  • Jessica: Started midweek and will have her first weigh-in next Friday

We’ve decided that the bigest loser will get a gift-card from each of the other contestants, so there’s now a competition element, in addition to inidividual goals and rewards that we set for ourselves. Just 16.7 more pounds until I get a head-to-toe new outfit and 27.9 until I hit one-derland. Seeing that number on the scale will be reward enough!

My goal for the upcoming week is to exercise at least four times. I’m planning to take the pups for a 1.5-mile walk tomorrow, followed by a solo 1.5-mile jog. The weather will be unseasonably warm and sunny–like a gorgeous summer day in mid-October. Now if only it would stay light past 6:30!

Before I head to bed for the night (I’m falling asleep on my keyboard at the pathetic hour of 9:30 p.m.), I want to add one more thing. See the pretty banner above? Kendra at Key Lime Digital Designs created that for us! Check out her web site–she does great work! Rachel’s blog design is one of her creations. Thanks, Kendra!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weigh-in #1

  1. Sara says:

    I hate seeing that +.8 on there! I am determined to get it down in the right direction this week!

  2. Kristen K says:

    You had an unfair disadvantage, with a long vacation. This week you are going to leave us all in the dust!

Leave a Reply

