Week 3, and the power of choice

Well, week 3 was sort of a bust. My scale broke, so I have no idea what my results were. If I were to hazard a guess, I think I stayed about the same. I have a new scale now, so I’m ready to go for this coming Friday!

On Sunday, I was listening to a Dave Ramsey podcast while huffing and puffing on the elliptical, and he talked about his friend who lost 84 pounds after realizing that he never “accidentally” ate something. Every single bite he took was his choice to take, meaning it was fully in his power to make different choices and get different results.

Too often, I take my accountability out of the equation. I say passive things like “That pizza just smelled too good to resist” or “The ice cream was just too tempting.” In both cases, I need to acknowledge that I chose to eat the food and decided that the benefits were worth the consequences.

That’s where the problem comes in, though. It’s hard to think about the consequences when that food is right in front of you. I am going to make a major effort to think longer term when it comes to food.

This will be especially challenging as we enter the time of the year when I tend to eat more than ever: the DARK PERIOD as I call it. I think have a touch of seasonal affective disorder (SAD) and I just get completely wiped out, listless and crappy feeling when it starts to get dark so early. So what do I do? I eat.

I’m going to try my very hardest to schedule workouts, productive craft nights or house cleaning to distract from food when I can. No. I’m not going to try. I’m going to DO IT. What I do each night is up to me, and I am actively choosing to do the right thing for my future.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 3, and the power of choice

  1. Betsie says:

    I hear ya on the dark – it’s driving me bonkers too and it’s not even November yet! You’re doing great – maybe your scale was trying to relieve some of your stress, if only for a week. 🙂

  2. Nota says:

    Since I’ve started bootcamping it in the morning, I’ve been looking at food a little differently. I’ll see something tempting and think to myself “I burned off 600+ calories this morning. Do I really want to spend that effort on THAT?” Almost like I put those calories in my wallet and I’m saving up for a new pair of skinny pants that are uber expensive (like 105,000 calories) Of course, it doesn’t hurt that the man works me to the point of nausea either. Today, my arms are too fatigued to lift a fork after a keg workout.

  3. Valerie says:

    It helps when you just don’t go out to eat as much, or at all. Make ingredient lists, go shopping, and plan meals for the week instead. I am trying to lose 15 right now, and it’s hard, but never seeing the temptation is the best way to go. I remember you had a lot of success with that during the contest.

Leave a Reply

