CrossFit!

I have missed working out with a trainer like crazy. I LOVED it. I loved working out so hard that I couldn’t tell if I was sweating or crying. I loved feeling my aching muscles and knowing that it meant I had worked hard and made a difference. I loved seeing the progress every single week and, most of all, I loved knowing that my body was capable of things my mind would never dream possible. See that picture of me lifting the tire over on the right? Flipping that thing across the parking lot was hard. And it was AWESOME.

What I don’t love? Working out alone at the gym. On the rare occasions I make it there, I tend to phone it in on the elliptical or treadmill. Sure, I sweat and I put it on a decent resistance level or incline, but I KNOW I can do more because I’ve done it.

I continue to gain weight slowly but surely, and it’s pissing me off. It’s time to do really DO this thing. The eating part is the hardest for me, so that will come second. First, I need to focus on the working out, because when I exercise hard, I have no desire to eat badly. I don’t want to waste all the effort I put in during the workout.

That brings me to CrossFit. Sadly, I can’t afford a personal trainer. But I *can* (with some major scrimping and saving) afford CrossFit, and it looks almost as fabulous. It’s sort of like small group personal training and involves boot camp-esque workouts. According to this web site, “CrossFit is the fitness methodology used by many police academies and tactical operations teams, military special operations units, champion martial artists, and hundreds of other elite and professional athletes worldwide. It is also being implemented in nursing homes, pre-schools, and physical therapy…We utilize the best movements from gymnastics, olympic weightlifting, power lifting, rowing and running to create  unique, intense workouts that are constantly varied so you don’t ever get bored.”

I was going to post some pictures, but some of the photos I saw listed a particular day’s workouts (e.g., 1 mile run, 100 pull-ups, 200 push-ups, 300 squats, 1 mile run) and I started to feel a tad sick. I’m going to ignore those and remember that everyone I’ve talked to said any fitness level can start and tailor the worouts to their own abilities.

I’ve talked to several CrossFit devotees who absolutely love it and I’m really excited to start. I’ll be joining as soon as Jon’s semester ends–right now he’s gone practically 24/7 and I need to get home to take care of the dogs. With his schedule next semester, I’ll have more freedom and I plan to put it to good use.

The box I’ll be joining (that’s CrossFit lingo I’ve picked up in my research) is CrossFit Fire and their facility is called The Fort.  I’m so excited to have found a local box…I’ve been really wanting to meet more local people and I’m hoping this experience has a double benefit and leads to some new friendships too! Torturous workouts are sort of a bonding experience. 🙂

I hope to do a trial session in late November. Let’s hope my enthusiasm is still as strong AFTER the workout!

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to CrossFit!

  1. Beth says:

    Crossfit is uber-amazing. There are lots of websites that offer WoD (workouts of the day) that you can modify and do yourself at the gym before you start! I use them 3 times a week on my days off from running —– for example, yesterday I did 3 rounds of 10xpush press (could do that with any standard weight bar at a gym), 20 box jumps (I just used the stairs in my garage), and 400m run (for me, down to the fire hydrant on the next block and back). Get creative and have fun!!! PS — I was in terrible shape when starting, but a few workouts in, and you feel invincible. Good luck!

  2. Nota says:

    Hey- I just noticed that the weigh-in posts are about 2 overdue…How’s everyone doing on the challenge?

  3. Kristen K says:

    Melissa is kicking butt. The rest of us? Um, oops. I am the exact same weight I was on day 1. I have a vacation coming up and I have the day off when I get back, so I’m going to the grocery store and starting fresh–all new, fresh foods. Tossing the processed stuff. Getting mad and getting started. I’m so disappointed in myself!

  4. Nota says:

    Okay, I thought about this for a day or so before responding, but I need to say something. I think you need to get your Wish board back out with the picture of that dress and that baby and those seatbelts. Your posts and your responses have recently been all about what you WILL do – future tense. That doesn’t work. You already know this. Your weight struggle is about what you are doing RIGHT NOW. The decisions you are making today. Get in the present tense. Get your head back in this. Get RIGHT THIS MINUTE! How did the processed crap get back in your kitchen to begin with? What are you eating on vacation? You’re going to get mad and get started when you get home? Girrrll – you got started on this a few weeks ago. You’re on this journey already. Aren’t you done being heavy yet? It sounded like you were before, but now – I don’t know. You don’t sound mad to me. You’re making an awful lot of excuses for yourself and pushing things off to future thinking. Sorry to be so harsh, but that’s what I see, and I can’t follow you down the rabbit hole to putting all this weight back on – and squandering the huge gift of guidance, love and support that you were given through the contest. So many people wanted that opportunity – and you’re on your way to being the person that other people say “she lost it for that contest but then she put it all back on” about. Do you want to be that girl? What are you doing?

Leave a Reply

