I’m baaack! (Part 2)

I owe my mental return to a few things:

1. Gaining a few pounds while in Charleston

2. Noticing that my jeans are a bit tight

3. Being inspired by Melissa’s success in our weight loss contest

4. And, most of all, a recent common on my blog.

Here is that comment from Nota in its entirety:

Okay, I thought about this for a day or so before responding, but I need to say something. I think you need to get your Wish board back out with the picture of that dress and that baby and those seatbelts. Your posts and your responses have recently been all about what you WILL do – future tense. That doesn’t work. You already know this. Your weight struggle is about what you are doing RIGHT NOW. The decisions you are making today. Get in the present tense. Get your head back in this. Get RIGHT THIS MINUTE! How did the processed crap get back in your kitchen to begin with? What are you eating on vacation? You’re going to get mad and get started when you get home? Girrrll – you got started on this a few weeks ago. You’re on this journey already. Aren’t you done being heavy yet? It sounded like you were before, but now – I don’t know. You don’t sound mad to me. You’re making an awful lot of excuses for yourself and pushing things off to future thinking. Sorry to be so harsh, but that’s what I see, and I can’t follow you down the rabbit hole to putting all this weight back on – and squandering the huge gift of guidance, love and support that you were given through the contest. So many people wanted that opportunity – and you’re on your way to being the person that other people say “she lost it for that contest but then she put it all back on” about. Do you want to be that girl? What are you doing?

Holy crap, it’s like the girl can see my entire brain. This post made me cry, made me determined and resonated through every cell of my body. I promptly threw out my grocery list (which focused on getting “good deals” from coupons) and drafted a new one. I now have a pantry that looks exactly like it did during my weight loss contest and I’m so excited about it. I also downloaded a few podcasts to take with me to the gym today (and tomorrow and the next day).

She is so right that I’d lost my drive. I was sure I could fix it tomorrow–ironic, given that I created a blog called Starting This Minute. But today is yesterday’s tomorrow. And tomorrow will be today and I’ll simply put it off to another tomorrow that will never come. So it’s time to grab life by the horns and take some responsibility for my choices. And my choices are these:

1. Train for three more 5Ks before my 30th birthday.

2. Wear a size 12 by my 30th birthday.

3. Be in great shape to get pregnant by the time we are ready (maybe 18 months or so from now?).

4. Train for a 10K in early fall, a 15K in late fall and the Disney Princess Half in 2013. Eek. This sounds so impossible that I don’t want to even write it down, but there’s no way I’ll get there if I don’t fully commit.

5. Figure out how the heck I’m going to pay for the Disney Princess Half!

6. Help motivate and inspire someone else, like Nota has done for me!

So, thank you for the tough love, Nota. Please keep reading. I’m sure I’ll need you again along the way–but, while I may slip up, I will absolutely not GIVE up.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m baaack! (Part 2)

  1. Nota says:

    Sorry I made you cry. But also 🙂 – now this sounds like the girl that was writing this blog before.

  2. Amen, Nota! 🙂 And Kris- How much inspiration do you need, before YOU become the inspiration? 🙂 We’re done with this being about tomorrow. Screw tomorrow. If you keep looking at the future, tomorrow won’t come. And that’s the ONLY way I’ve made it through the last 6 weeks of our “challenge”. If not today, when?

  3. Beth says:

    Great post!! And kudos to Nota for having the ahem, appendages, to call you out, and to you for having the strength to listen. We all struggle and procrastinate and make good choices and make bad choices — it’s that ability to not give up and to pull yourself back in that will keep you moving on the right path!!

    If you’re looking for accountability (that I so often lack), I’m planning to run a 5K in the spring, and possibly a 10k in the summer/fall. I just finished a 5K in Wheaton, and while I didn’t do fantastic (44 minutes or so), it was my goal (sub 45). It’s a bummer typing that, because I secretly wanted to be so much faster, but I’m afraid I didn’t put in the time and mentally commit myself to doing better. If you want to chat over email or something to encourage each other, and maybe meet up on weekends in the spring to run together, email me! I know you don’t know me, but I’m a nestie lurker and have followed your blog, and totally feel like you’re one of my people (in a very non-creepy internet way, if that’s possible.)

    Regardless, good luck and keep your drive up!!!

    PS — love the dress you wore at the wedding. Where did you get it?

  4. Kristen K says:

    I didn’t know you were local, Beth! I would LOVE to meet up and run. It sounds like we have a very similar pace! I will also shoot you an e-mail. The dress is from Dress Barn. I bought in April and managed to wear it to four different weddings this year, since the guests didn’t overlap. 🙂 It’s the very first dress I’ve ever bought that I’ve loved!

  5. Kristen K says:

    You are so right. My favorite quote is, “A year from now, you will wish you had started today.” I am going to repeat that every single day, as many times as I need to!

Leave a Reply

