So thankful!

I know Thanksgiving is over, but I really wanted to take some time to express my gratitude for all of the great things in my life. This has been a pretty incredible year.

First and foremost, I am thankful for the Fittest Loser contest, the Daily Herald and Push Fitness. It changed my life. I lost 47 pounds, and while I’ve gained some back, I’m still down significantly and on my way to getting back to my lowest weight. Above all, this contest showed me that I CAN do it. The ME that I want to be is not only possible, but well within my reach. That knowledge is so powerful. I’d never truly believed I could do it, and now I KNOW I can.

Secondly, I am grateful to my husband, Jon. He is so goofy and makes me laugh all the time. I am very proud of how he has gone back to school to achieve his dreams, and how he is supporting mine. Some extra money we have this year SHOULD go to savings….but he’s given me full support in using it toward a CrossFit membership, which I’ve really wanted to get.

I am also thankful for our crazy dogs, who make me laugh, smile and shriek in frustration. They are so much fun, and they will always be my first babies!

I am also grateful to my lifelong friend, Betsie. She encouraged me to sign up for a 5K this year, and it was lifechanging. I was slow, but I finished and I even signed up for and completed a second one! Betsie ran by me for the full 3.1 miles, even though she can go significantly faster, and that made it a great experience for me. I’m hoping the two of us run the Disney half together someday!

My Facebook weight loss group is another thing I am thankful for. We share our vents and successes, and it is very helpful to me.

I am extremely thankful for my coworkers. They worked around my weight loss journey, organizing lunches at healthy places like Seasons 52 and always making a point to recognize my progress. They are awesome! I am also grateful for my job, which lets me experience new challenges and successes every year.

I have, without a doubt, the best mom in the entire universe, and my dad and brothers are pretty darn awesome too. I wish for everyone the kind of love and support I get from my family. I am so lucky to have them.

I am also so very thankful to have three grandparents still living and wonderful memories of my incredible grandpa, who passed away five years ago. My grandma, who has cancer, is doing better than expected and I am grateful to have extra time with her.

Even more people I am grateful for: my in-laws! I love them all and wish we could see them more frequently. Also, my friends. They are such nice and caring people.

I am also thankful that things just seem to work out. Having Jon go back to school was a major gamble financially, and there were months where it didn’t seem that things would work out on paper. But, somehow, someway, it always did, and we even had room for extras. It’s sort of miraculous, really.

And that brings me to my final thank-you. I am thankful to God. Despite my frequent questions and doubts, I still find myself talking to him throughout the day (silently, fortunately!) and feeling a sense of peace. While my brain sometimes can’t reconcile certain things, my heart still believes and is grateful for my faith. I’ve even found a church that satisfies my liberal requirements, which makes me happy. Now I just need to go more often…

I lied. I have one more thank you. Thank you to those of you who read my blog, share in my journey and give me encouragement when I most need it.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

