Starting fresh

With the new year approaching, it’s time to think about some goals for the new year (I can’t use the “r” word–those never come true). Case in point, my new year’s resolutions for 2011, which included things like attending church regularly (um, I made it for Easter, Christmas and a few other Sundays I could count on one hand–not exactly a resounding success), volunteering (I came up with a list of places to look into, and that’s as far as I got), doubling our savings (HA!), losing 50 lbs (well, I DID that, but promptly gained 20 back….), and having a regular social night with the girls (I did have a few get-togethers this year, but they are not as regular as I’d like them to be).

Final grade: D-

Keeping my spectacular failures in mind, here are some attainable goals I will achieve in 2012:

  • Run three more 5Ks.
  • Run one longer distance, such as an 8K or 10K.
  • Get below final contest weight (216) by the night of the Fittest Loser celebration (typically early May).
  • Follow the fabulous organizing calendar at mysimplerlife.com (here’s January’s: http://www.mysimplerlife.com/2012/Jan2012.pdf).
  • Attend church at least twice each month and volunteer for at least one project.

Now, it’s time to focus on how I will achieve these goals.

First the races, I’ve identified the Egg Shell Shuffle, Barrington Mother’s Day 5K and the Healthy Living 5K as three possibilities for th 5K. The Egg Shell Shuffle was my first 5K ever, and I can’t wait to return and get a better time! For the longer race, I’m considering the Long Grove Turkey Trot 8K.

Onto the weight loss. What I’d like to do is follow the contest diet (clean eating, low-carb) five days per week and have the weekends “free.” And by free, I mean eat no more than 1,800 calories, but that might include a slide of pizza. For exercise, I plan to go to the gym four times per week through the end of February and then switch to outdoor runs to get ready for the races in March, April and May.

The organizing calendar gives one manageable task per day, which makes that one easy to follow!

For church, I already have a volunteer project in mind. The church I “attend” (I use that word loosely) hosts PADS on Saturday night and I would love to volunteer for that once a month.

So, those are my goals. What are yours?

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

