New year, new focus

I can’t believe it’s not only 2012, but practically the second MONTH of 2012!

I’ve had the winter blues, for sure. My days have been going something like this: Alarm blares at 5:35. I groan loudly, hit the snooze button and doze off for nine minutes. And then another nine. And possibly nine more. At that point, I’m in a mad rush to shower and get ready, which means I usually either skip breakfast or don’t pack a lunch. I vow to work out after work. After nine hours of work and an hour commute home, I feel like a giant exhausted blob. I microwave a chicken breast and collapse on the couch and watch TV for two hours. Rinse, repeat.

Needless to say, that is no way to live.

So, I am bringing my blog back and I’m bringing my determination back. I miss lifting weights, I miss running and I miss blogging. And I can’t keep saying, “Well, as soon as the weather gets better, I’ll be running and all of the weight will come right off!” The time is NOW.

This year, I’ve lost 4.4 lbs so far. Of course, I gained more than five pounds over the holidays, so I’m still above where I need to be. My goal is to be 215 pounds by the Fittest Loser celebration in May and 199 by fall. There is nothing standing in my way, but me. And it’s time to step aside and watch myself accomplish some spectacular things.

 

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New year, new focus

  1. Melissa says:

    Dig down deep and break the streak!

  2. Sara says:

    I am with you Kristen! The “winters” are beautiful here in FL yet I can’t motivate myself to get outside and run / cycle etc. I would rather kill myself in the summer and do it. I just don’t get it. I brought back my weight loss blog also and it has been helpful the past few days just talking about losing weight / nutrition etc to someone or no-one who will listen! LOL. I hope you can figure out a routine soon and stick with it!

Leave a Reply

