Fittest Loser, take two

One year ago exactly, I embarked on a weight loss journey that would change my life and lost 47 pounds. Six months ago, I started gaining weight back. Today, I made the decision to go drastic.

This whole “eat fewer carbs” or “eat fewer calories,” depending on my mood, is not working. My personality requires a majorly strict eating program, because if you give me an inch, I’ll take 10 miles.

As a result, I decided that now is the absolute perfect time to start my diet from last year’s Fittest Loser program. The five new contestants should be starting this week, and I’m going to follow along at home. By the night of the Fittest Loser celebration in May, I WILL be down at least 25 pounds. I guarantee it.

It was a difficult day to start this diet. I had a full-day work meeting that began with a plate of pastries sitting about a foot away from me for five straight hours. I successfully avoided bagels, muffins and danishes, three foods I absolutely adore.

Then our meeting broke and we went to lunch at a yummy Italian restaurant. I turned down the warm loaf of fresh bread and my favorite pasta dishes. In their place, I ordered a lemon rosemary chicken with broccoli and rice, hold the rice and add asparagus. It was quite delicious.

I did stop at Chipotle for dinner (steak salad) because I had a few hours of work to do tonight and not much time to cook, but that was within the plan.

I can’t wait to start feeling like I did last year and I REALLY can’t wait to start seeing results! Just be sure to remind me about how good I felt when I’m craving pizza. I remember literally crying last year because I wanted pizza so badly and I was so sick of chicken.

The only question I have is this: how will this really work? Last year, I knew it was a 12-week plan and then it was over. But because I treated it that way, I gained back a significant amount of weight (I’m still the same size as I was at the end of the contest, TECHNICALLY, but if I gain another five pounds, those jeans may burst). At the same time, I can’t see eating absolutely no starches for the rest of my life. Starch-free until I get under 200 pounds and then transition to Weight Watchers? Starch free until I become a master exerciser and can maintain my weight loss without a 100% perfect diet?

We’ll see. What matters today is that I am back on track and can’t wait to see what the future holds!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fittest Loser, take two

  1. “Last year, I knew it was a 12-week plan and then it was over. But because I treated it that way, I gained back a significant amount of weight”

    This are the key sentences in your entire post today. Both you and I need to treat this as a lifestyle change, a change of diet – not a DIET. Does that make sense? That and I’ve decided I am no longer weighing on a scale (unless forced!). I’m done w/ the endless up and down on a weekly basis due to water, hormones or whatever ridiculous fluctuation. I know if I’ve eaten right or not, my rings tell me if there’s too much sodium, and my pants tell me if I’ve done enough movement.

Leave a Reply

