The Color Run: Making 5Ks fun!

Last year, I ran my first 5K, and it was the proudest experience of my life to date. I don’t LIKE to run, and I probably never will, but I will continue to do it because it makes me feel accomplished and it’s super effective for weight loss. But I can’t say I’ve ever thought running was FUN.

Until now.

How freaking fun does this 5K look?

All runners in The Color Run start out in a plain white t-shirt. At 1K, they’re doused with yellow paint. At 2K, green, 3K, blue, 4K, purple, 5k, the rainbow.  You end up looking like this:

Chicago’s run takes place on June 2, but it’s offered at a variety of cities throughout the country. Check http://thecolorrun.com for full details. The fee for Chicago is $35 if you sign up before March 1–$25 if you can get a group of four to sign up together. A good portion of the fee will go to a TBD charitable organization.

This will definitely be one my 5Ks this year! I am going to concentrate on all the fun, crazy pictures and not this sort of terrifying picture:

Holy moly. Good thing the paint is edible, natural and nontoxic.

This run is billed as a non-competitive run, so it’s a perfect 5K for first-timers and those who want to walk portions. If you run the Chicago race, I will see you there!

Note: All photos are from http://thecolorrun.com and The Color Run’s Facebook page.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Color Run: Making 5Ks fun!

  1. Sabrina says:

    This looks amazing! The one near me isn’t until end of Sept, which gives me plenty of time to prepare. I’m going to do this one!!

  2. Beth says:

    Holy cow, Kristen…we have way too much in common — it’s scary!! I’m moving from Chicago in a few months (sad face) to San Francisco, and was going to run this race there (as a way to kickoff my new life)!!! We’ll have to compare experiences 🙂

    BTW, I had “stopped by” today to tell you that I just checked Geneen Roth’s book out of the library…maybe we can meet up for coffee/tea to discuss it before I move?

  3. Kristen K says:

    I am jealous of your move to San Francisco! I LOVE it there! And I would definitely like to meet up! I will e-mail you and we can set something up! I think Geneen Roth’s “Women, Food and God” and her earlier books are probably more directly relevant to weight issues, but the money one has some good sections too!

  4. Sara says:

    This looks like so much fun but unfortunately our only race in Florida is in Orlando (over 2 hrs away) and it’s in the height of holiday season (December 2nd) which is impossible to take an extra day off… I am going to be looking for other races in the area though because running is a great tool!

Leave a Reply

