NEGU

An inspirational 12-year-old girl started a movement last year. Called Never Ever Give Up (NEGU), its intention is to spread hope to kids with cancer through Joy Jars. Her mission:  to send them to all 50,000 children hospitalized with cancer. Sadly, Jessica Joy Rees passed away this year, but her mission lives on–and people are using the slogan to inspire them in all sorts of ways.

Today, I made a small donation to NEGU. And with that donation, I also pledge to bring joy to others and joy to myself.

For the first part, I will volunteer. I commit to signing up for a volunteer opportunity within the next seven days. The options I’m considering right now are PADS (our church hosts it on Saturday nights), being an adult literacy tutor, being a Big Sister, or signing up to visit a senior citizen (I don’t know where to find something like this in my area, but I’ve always loved seniors and I’ve had a little dream of creating a Big Brothers/Big Sisters-esque program for seniors who want some more companionship).

For the second part, I have GOT to get back with the program and get this weight off. Never have I been happier than when I was losing weight and feeling great. I don’t know what my mental block is, but I have to get over it and just do it. I will not give up.

If you know a child with cancer who would like a Joy Jar or you work at a hospital that would like to receive Joy Jars for its patients, visit www.jessie.org.

Regardless of what your goal is, know that it is possible. NEGU!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NEGU

  1. Nota says:

    You might want to check out http://www.kindnessgirl.com – she has some excellent ideas for bringing joy and kindness to other people, most of which are free, spontaneous and you can do on your own time. She calls it her Guerilla Goodness mission – and it has me carrying bright yellow post-it notes in my purse.

Leave a Reply

