I work out because….

I’m going to let my pal Pinterest do most of the talking tonight. It’s the eve of my CrossFit orientation, so I’m giving myself a pep talk to remind myself of why I’m doing this and why it’s SO WORTH IT!

Without further ado:

Seriously, I’d have lasted for about 30 seconds in the arena. On a good day. (By the way, is anyone else crazy excited for the movie?)

I am also choosing to work out because:

Another reason? I really want to wear cute skirts this summer:

(Note: I’ll need to find an alternate bag. A Birkin isn’t exactly in the budget.)

I am also committing to work out because I want to travel and explore and never get tired:

And, finally, I want to have a healthy baby someday and be a healthy mom. And with the big 3-0 swiftly approaching, this is weighing on my mind more than ever:

Looking through all these reasons, it seems like a no-brainer to dedicate 45 minutes each day to work out. But it’s never quite as easy in practice, is it? When I need a reminder of why I’m doing this, I’ll revisit this post. And then I’ll get back to kicking butt so I can give Katniss a run for her fictional money.

PS: If you haven’t read Hunger Games, what are you waiting for?! Go pick it up right this instant!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I work out because….

  1. Rachel says:

    I used that Hunger Games pic in one of my upcoming posts too! Haha! I can’t wait for the movie! For real!
    I feel the same about everything you said. Which is why I feel even more guilty that I read this post while eating a chocolate donut with sprinkles :/

Leave a Reply

