CrossFit orientation

On Friday morning, I woke to my alarm at 6 a.m.—two full hours before my CrossFit orientation. I guess you could say I was excited. After pacing the house for awhile, since I had so much extra time, I hopped in the car and was pleasantly surprised to see that the drive was even shorter than I thought.

When I walked in, a workout was in progress. The participants? Five very fit, very buff guys. They were jumproping so fast I couldn’t see the rope as it twirled. Gulp.

But before I could meekly excuse myself, the owner introduced herself and I immediately felt comfortable with her. She had me set goals (I immediately said I had two: to be under 200 pounds and to run a sub-4o 5K) and then we did a workout: 500 meters on the rowing machine, 40 squats, 30 situps, 20 pushups (no knees on the way down) and 10 body rows (your body is diagonal to the floor, you’re holding onto rings and you pull yourself up).

I was a little terrified when she pulled out the stopwatch, but she told me not to worry and to stop and rest whenever I needed to. The average time women typically take to complete the workout, she said, was 10 minutes on average, 7 if you’re fast and 12-14 if you’re slow. I was positive I’d come in at 14, ESPECIALLY as I grunted and groaned and tried desperately not to throw up during the pushups.

You would not think that pushups are all that hard if you can use your knees to get up. But lowering your chest all the way to the ground, if your hands and butt are in proper form, is really freaking difficult! For me, anyway. That part lasted an eternity. When I finally finished the full workout, I cringed as I waited to hear my time.

8:40.

8:40!!! I did it in less than nine minutes! You would not believe how excited I was. (You would also not believe how embarrassed I was to be pouring sweat and gasping for breath after only eight minutes and 40 seconds.)

Sadly, the next ramp-up class isn’t until March 6. I am ready to get going NOW! I can’t even describe how I felt when I left the gym. The closest word I can think of is bliss. I was so full of energy, so excited and so ready to get started with the program. I haven’t felt that awesome since my last bootcamp class during the Fittest Loser competition.

How I feel today is another story altogether. Every single cell of my body is in agony. My thighs ache so badly it hurts to stand. But it hurts worse to sit down and get back up again. I could barely raise my arms to shampoo my hair. And this is after only nine minutes of working out! What the heck is it going to be like after an hour-long session?

I can’t wait to find out! I savor the pain because it’s proof that my body is being pushed, and that means my body is going to change.

Hurry up, March 6th! I’m ready to be a CrossFitter!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CrossFit orientation

  1. Beth says:

    Make sure you stretch after your workout, like really really well, and get some protein in your body within 20 minutes of finishing the workout. I like protein shakes. (frozen strawberries, almond milk and some whey powder is tasty!) My husband swears by this, both as a personal trainer and a professional athlete to completely eliminate soreness and inflammation post-workout. I notice a major difference if I don’t stretch long enough afterwards, especially! Also, invest in a foam roller!! We got one for $20 on amazon and its amazing!

  2. Lacey says:

    Good job! CrossFit is definitely addicting but it’s a good addiction!

  3. Kristen K says:

    I am used to doing the shakes after a workout, but I was not expecting 10 minutes to make any kind of difference, so I skipped all of that this time. Lesson learned!! Three days later, the soreness finally went away!

Leave a Reply

