CrossFit, week 1

I started CrossFit on Monday, March 12. The hour before I left, I was practically shaking with fear. I had so much nervous energy, I ended up leaving the house at 6:30 for a 7 p.m. workout. The gym is approximately two mminutes from my house.

Getting there early was great, though, because it gave me the opportunity to watch a workout. And what a workout it was! These people were leaping onto box jumps that looked about three feet tall, doing sumo deadlifts with about a zillion pounds on the bar, and running a few hundred meters. Most of the people looked extremely fit, and even they looked exhausted and sweat-soaked.

This should have been extremely intimidating–and it was, at first. But what I noticed after awhile is that even the super fit, extremely intimidating ones were totally supportive and encouraging of everyone else. They were right in there cheering everyone along and helping them finish their workout. That atmosphere of support and cameraderie was really cool.

After that class ended, we started our ramp-up. We did presses, front squats, overhead squats, body rows and push-ups, followed by the workout of the day (WOD):
200 meter run
15 squats, 15 push-ups, 15 body rows
12 of each of those
9 of each of those
200 meter run

It was a lot harder than it sounded–I realized I’d been doing push-ups wrong, and they are WAY harder when done in in good form! I was sore for the next three days. But in addition to being hard, it was amazing! I felt energized, wide awake and really proud.

Since then, we’ve had two more sessions. We’ve done push presses, dead lifts, sumo deadlifts, rowing, burpees and lots of other things, including those box jumps I saw on my first night. I love it all! My bad knee has been screaming, but they’re really nice about helping me scale back to something that’s still really effective, but that doesn’t blow out my knee.

I finished second to last on that first workout, but on the second day, my partner and I finished FIRST! Who would ever have thought THAT would happen?!

The best part of all of this, besides the whole feeling great thing, is that it’s making me like this area better! I’ve been obsessed with figuring out when/how/how soon we can get out of this house and into one nearer to work and my family, so we’re not wasting a million dollars on gas and a billion hours of time in the car. But now that I’ve found CrossFit, I’m starting to think I don’t want to leave!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

