Nine days in

I’m nine days into my new workout routine and I am LOVING it. L-O-V-I-N-G it!

I love that I’m not spending my nights sprawled on the couch. I love that I’m socializing with lots of fun people (and even running into an old acquaintance!). I love that I already feel like my pants are a little looser. I even love that I’m sore all over (it actually hurts to TYPE right now) because it means I’m making progress. No pain, no gain!

What I don’t love is that my right knee has been acting up and some squat movements are impossible. Fortunately, the coaches are great at helping me scale down the workouts to something my achy, breaky body can handle. The other part I don’t love: when I do really stupid things like smacking myself in the chin with 20 kilos of weights doing hang power cleans. Fortunately, my teeth still seem to be in the right place.

Tonight’s workout of the day (WOD) involved rowing, hang power cleans and box jumps. I desperately need practice on the jumps. I think it’s a mind thing, because jumping 16″ is not exactly a herculean feat. Oh well, I will get there!

On the bright side, I apparently am a great hang power snatcher. Woo hoo, finally something I can do!

My first “real” workout, post ramp-up, is on Saturday. I asked a super nice girl in my group to go with me and she agreed, so I don’t have to face it alone. Woo hoo! I also asked the coach to send me three workouts I can do while traveling next week (In case my boss is reading this and wants to yell at me for telling the world–or my two blog readers–that my house will be empty, that is not the case. People, animals and objects that can be used as weapons will be present in my abode, despite my absence.).

I am excited to have a vacation where I don’t throw health to the wayside. Bring on the exercise!

In addition to CrossFit, I’m doing Couch to 5K two to three times a week. Between the two, I’ve worked out five of the last six days–a huge accomplishment for this lazy lump!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nine days in

  1. That’s so awesome, Kristen. I’m glad you’re loving it!! The sport that my husband competes in (Olympic Weightlifting) has a great support system in the Crossfit community. As personal trainers, they have lots of debates about what program produces the fittest people, and they LOVE crossfit. I can’t wait to see your results — I would imagine you’ll start seeing mega differences (physically & mentally!) in just a few more workouts!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

