An active vacation

I am back from vacation, and it is quite a shock! Going from peaceful, serene Arkansas, to a crazy workday filled with 1,260 emails was quite a shock. Good thing I like a mix of both serenity and activity!

And speaking of activity, Arkansas wasn’t entirely serene. There was a whole lot of walking, hiking, exploring and LOTS of stairs and hills.

Exhibit A (leading to the haunted hotel we toured–so cool!):

Once we got into the hotel, we found that the elevator was broken, so we walked up four more flights of stairs. That’s after dragging my 50-pound suitcase (hey, a girl needs her shoes) up the world’s longest flight of stairs at our non-elevatored hotel. And also after walking the hilly streets of Eureka Springs about 10 times. I definitely got my steps in this week!

And here’s exhibit B. You can’t tell how high we are, but this is my brother, grandpa and me after we hiked about a zillion feet above the highway and river below. My brother kept leaning over and nearly giving me a heart attack.

Even the caves we toured had about 100 stairs each.

I loved all the walking and climbing–and it’s a good thing I did a lot of it. Outside of Eureka Springs, about the only restaurant within driving distance was McDonald’s–and I think we ate there about five times. I never want to see it again.

But let’s end on a positive note. Check out some of the beautiful things I saw this weekend:

The most gorgeous wayside ever:

Flowers–everything is in bloom so early this year, and I LOVE it!

Pretty birds!

Cliffs!

And best yet, a COW IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. It was epic.

All in all, it was a really nice, restorative trip and I am so glad I got to go and see my grandparents. My grandma is dealing with cancer and it was very good to see her. But also very hard to leave.

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

