Accountability partners

I signed up for a Twitter acount a year or so ago and proceeded to tweet approximately four times before I decided that I was too boring and that keeping up with all the people I was following took too much time. But my friend Melissa recently started tweeting, and she inspired me to dip my toes into it again.

How?

She proposed that we be workout accountability partners via Twitter (I promise I’m not going to give it some gagworthy “tw” term, like tworkout partners). We’ll tweet each other with the exercise we commit to doing that day, and again when we’ve actually done it. Our first attempt at this was today.

I didn’t want to work out at all, but breaking my promise to her when she kept hers to me was not an option. As a result, I can proudly say that I kept up my end of the bargain!

StartThisMinute @StartThisMinute: @GnomeEscapades Workout done. Did 30 Day Shred, Level 2, instead. Whew! Only 20 minutes, but I am wiped!
 

GnomeEscapades@GnomeEscapades: @StartThisMinute awesome! Good for you! Want to keep this up? As acctbly partners?
 
And so did she. We’ve since agreed to do this at least three times per week.
 
Image
I’m now brainstorming other possible accountability partner types. Maybe one of my MyFitnessPal.com friends and I can send each other our food journals for the day. Or maybe a fellow scrapbooking friend and I can share our progress on getting our pictures into albums.  
 
I am someone who NEEDS accountability. The only time I’ve ever been extremely successful was when I knew my weight was being published in a major metropolitan newspaper each week. During those 12 weeks, I didn’t gain an ounce, ever. There was no way I was going to risk being embarrassed in print. And in this case, there’s no way I’m going to let Melissa do all the work while I sit on my butt.
 
If you’ve been struggling, I highly recommend trying out this system–and I’m happy to be an accountability partner to you, too!
 
About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

