30 Days of Happiness

I follow the OWN network on Facebook (yes, I’ll happily admit it. Sappy and schmaltzy could have been my middle names, and there is plenty of that on the network!), and saw this today:

 
Join @Oprah in the 30 Days of Happiness project by sharing the happiest moment of your day, every day for the next 30 Days.  Start sharing here on the page today!
 
For a girl who kept a gratitude journal of not one, but five, things she was thankful for every day for a year, this is a perfect new project!
 
 
You can record your moment in a private journal, tweet it using #Happiness, or post it on OWN’s Facebook page. I’ll be keeping mine on my blog.
 
The tough part will be picking just one per day. I have five from yesterday alone:
  • Finding 11/22/63 at the library when I was planning to buy it on Amazon that night
  • Chatting about a dream vacation with Jon…and wondering if we’ll actually take it or if we’ll decide to become parents first instead
  • Sitting outside with Jon and friends eating grilled pineapple (yum!) and feeling the cool evening breeze
  • Playing the Big Bang Theory game with said friends and laughing at our unparalleled nerdiness
  • Being overcome with love for my puppy when she jumped into bed with me and laid her head on my shoulder

The little things mean a lot to me!

So let’s get to today’s, since this is technically day 1 of the project:

When Jon gave me a kiss before he left for work, pet the puppies, and told us that he wished he could spend the day with all of us instead.

Sometimes it’s easy to take for granted the good things in a marriage and focus on each other’s annoying habits and flaws instead. But I need to remember that I am very lucky to be married to someone who I really enjoy spending time with, and who still gives me a kiss and tells me he loves me before he goes to work each day–and many other times throughout the day as well.

The runner-up to my happiest moment was sitting in the pedicure chair, with my feet in the warm bubbling water–and later looking down at my freshly pedicured toes. And I’m already looking forward to another happy moment tonight: curling up on the couch with Friends With Kids and eating a dessert of angel food cake and fresh berries.

Tomorrow will be more difficult as I am not a big fan of Mondays. But I think this project will inspire me not just to appreciate my happy moments, but to pursue more of them. If I know I have to record a happiest moment, I am more inclined to make time in the day for things that make me happy.

So tell me–what is your happiest moment in the past week? What do you think will be your happiest moment this week?

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

