Vision boards

Today is my interview to become a member of the Fittest Loser final 5. I haven’t prepped any answers for potential questions because I want them to be honest and not scripted. But, to keep me on track and keep my nervousness at bay, I created a vision board showing all the reasons I want to lose weight.

As it depicts, I WILL lose weight so that I can:

  • Fit into the too-small bridesmaid dress for my brother-in-law’s wedding this May!
  • Ride roller coasters without any fear whatsoever of a seat belt extender (never needed one, but came really close one time, and the shame was horrifying). I also want to make sure I fit on the new Harry Potter ride at Universal, and I hear the seats are significantly smaller than most rides.
  • Shop at stores such as White House Black Market, Ann Taylor Loft and Banana Republic. I cannot WAIT to do this when I’m thin. Seriously, I’m normally not a big spender at stores, but I will be dangerous when I can fit into these stores’ clothing!
  • Run a 5k–specifically for the rescue that saved our two precious pups! This takes place in September each year, so I have a good eight months to prepare.
  • Sit on an airplane seat without worrying about getting dirty looks from the poor soul who sits next to me (note that I never HAVE received a dirty look, but I live in fear of one)
  • Go bathing suit shopping and not cringe in fear as I head into the dressing room–and not have to look for something solid black and as un-attention-grabbing as possible.
  • Have a baby! Hopefully one this cute. 🙂

I really recommend making one of these if you have a goal you’d love to pursue. Seeing all of these things stare at me from my fridge is going to be very helpful, and will make me think twice when I go to grab a snack. I’m not sure which photo is the most motivating at the moment–the bridesmaid dress (given that I need to fit into it in the very near future) or that too-adorable-for-words baby!

About Kristen K

My life has always been pretty darn fantastic--except for one thing: my weight. Not too long ago, I tipped the scale at 283 pounds. I'd gain some, lose some and gain some right back, and I was so frustrated. When I saw a notice for a Biggest Loser-style contest in my local paper, I applied on the spot and I felt like I won the lottery when I found out I was one of the five contestants chosen. We worked out four times a week with trainers and followed a clean eating diet, and my life completely transformed. I've lost more than 60 pounds and I'm feeling confidence for the first time in my life. I'm 29 years old with a great husband, a rewarding job, two adorable dogs and fantastic friends. Weight loss continues to be a struggle now that the contest has ended, but this time I know that I can do it and I'm fully committed. This blog has seved as an accountability tool as I journey from a happy, but fat, person to a happy and confident person. And for the first time in my life, I'm no longer putting it off until tomorrow. This time, I'm starting this minute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Vision boards

  1. Betsie says:

    The board turned out great! Which program did you use? Good luck today, can’t wait to hear all about it! 🙂

Leave a comment